On doom

Art by Melissa Hardiman.

Art by Melissa Hardiman.

The word doom has an interesting history. It originally meant a decree, often declared at somebody’s expense. A declaration of the taxes due on your home was a doom. This is especially true if you had no say in determining the amount.

The word evolved into meaning that people were destined for a bad end of some kind. The definition of “bad” is open to interpretation, of course. We treat death as a misfortune rather than as an ascendency. It’s all a matter of point of view.

This morning on YouTube I watched two Middle East experts talk to Bill Moyers. I was guided to this tape by Álvaro Malo, one of the rare outspoken men I know. They confirmed my view that civilization is doomed. When I use that word here I mean collapse. The refined people of the world will degenerate into street fighting, plundering, and sins of that nature. We will become increasingly like Syria. Parts of some U.S. cities are already in that condition. We may learn peace by taking violence to its final level of absurdity.

The driving force behind our being doomed is, of course, the failure of courage among men. That is not likely to change in the time I have left on this blue dot in space.

If you agree with my assessment, then the question arises, what is the proper attitude toward doom? Don’t look to men to provide the answer. They don’t have it.

My suggestion is that we support one another to fully accept each person’s strength and virtue. Those qualities are the only remedy for the painful condition we have created around the world. Men did 99 percent of the work in creating this pain.

At my age, I think it would be helpful if women would point out the failures of men. What do you have to lose? It’s about saving the world, after all. There are young kids counting on you.

The women in my Facebook circle are very sentimental about men. I think some tough love is in order, and I say this having watched a couple of generations of men grow up. As I have mentioned often in this blog, my generation of men stuck the wrench in the works. We retreated into obedience, and failed to properly challenge young males. Get good grades, son, that’s all that matters, we said.

As a result of our love of safety we are now facing tremendous risks. The greatest risk of all is that men my age have damaged our credibility to the point that we are consulted only on ceremonial occasions. We still have not learned much. I fear that we have forgotten how to learn.

On Facebook the comments from men fall into two categories: Happy Birthday, and You Look Hot! This reflects their level of commitment, I believe. This blog does not draw comments from men even after I have thrown dust in their eyes. Those are unscientific measurements, but I place value on them.

I welcome your comments.

 

One thought on “On doom

Leave a Reply

