My next post will be number 500

MarcusI aspire to be helpful. I do not know if this blog serves that goal. I am greeted mostly with silence, and particularly from men. And I have 500 posts because I erased a few hundred earlier posts.

The most common theme for my posts is to criticize men and their lack of commitment to justice because I consider it the defining characteristic of this decade.

The Republican presidential aspirants and several of the justices in the Supreme Court serve as examples of why I do this. The generalized male submissiveness to employers and other authority figures contributes to my disappointment with males.

In Iron John, a Book About Men, Robert Bly describes the hole in the male psyche. It comes from not knowing what the father does, or what he values. Bly writes, “When the son does not see his father’s workplace, or what he produces, does he imagine his father to be a hero, a fighter for good, a saint, or a white knight?”

I speak from experience. My dad worked in an office and hated his work. He came home and drank a lot.

“Now, there’s one thing you might have noticed I don’t complain about: politicians. Everybody complains about politicians. Everybody says they suck. Well, where do people think these politicians come from? They don’t fall out of the sky. They don’t pass through a membrane from another reality. They come from American parents and American families, American homes, American schools, American churches, American businesses and American universities, and they are elected by American citizens. This is the best we can do folks. This is what we have to offer. “—George Carlin

Bly says demons move into the empty space. “The demons, invisible but talkative, move into that empty place—demons of suspicion.”

I know young men who are totally lost and beyond rescue. They are living with their invisible demons. They are bound into service to them.

We have a condition we call post traumatic stress disorder, PTSD. It is the result of being betrayed by men who keep themselves safe while sending others into harm’s way to commit crimes on people they have never met. Think Vietnam, and Iraq.

It is common practice to send young men into pain and suffering to make a buck for the company. The problem, as I see it, is that the young men submit.

Talk to me, please.

Twenty minutes of wisdom with Bill Moyers and Neill Gabler.

Leave a Reply

