It makes me wonder

Me and LadSome dear friends recently moved to Washington state. Today I read a lengthy story in The New Yorker magazine online about the severe earthquake that is inevitably coming to devastate a vast swath of California, Oregon, and Washington due to the Cascadia subduction zone.

It prompted me to read several other stories on the topic. It is intense. Very scary.

Another dear friend is pulling up stakes in Los Angeles to move to her family home in Colorado. It is a trip of more than 1,000 miles. She broke up with the man she was living with.

I invited Maysa to lunch. Her day was filled with doctor and dentist appointments. She suggested we try again next week.

In the Pacific Northwest, the area of impact will cover everything west of Interstate 5  some hundred and forty thousand square miles, including Seattle, Tacoma, Portland, Eugene, Salem (the capital city of Oregon), Olympia (the capital of Washington), and some seven million people. When the next full-margin rupture happens, that region will suffer the worst natural disaster in the history of North America.—The New Yorker

Another friend, one living in Tucson, broke up with her boyfriend, but he is still living in her apartment. She and I went out last night to hear two of her favorite singers. I enjoy her company.

I continue to empathize with the folks who hold cardboard signs on the median strips. I have relatives who might follow in their footsteps, or they might be there now.

With all of this going I see the great need for kindness and compassion. We do not see enough of either in public life, nor in public policy. We have some awful role models.

One of my favorite movies about learning to soften our attitude is Doc Hollywood. Michael J. Fox discovers his own humanity thanks to the citizens of Grady, South Carolina, and to life lessons from some time on the job as a plastic surgeon in Beverly Hills catering to the vain and the rich.

The photo shows me and my grandmother’s dog. His name was Lad. I lived with her during some of the rough patches in my dad’s life. He had many of them.

We can’t always recognize other people’s pain. We should just be nice to as many people as we can.

Leave a Reply

