On being distinctive

Dallas Day

Dallas Day adds beauty and class.

I recently mentioned Peter Drucker’s book, Managing for Results, and was drawn to review my highlighting and underlining. The book is as valuable now as it was a half century ago, in my opinion.

He makes the point that any product or service must be distinguished by its merits if it is to attract and retain customers. That advice applies to this blog. This post highlights the traits I strive for in an effort to make this blog worthwhile to readers. These features are not ranked.

Beauty is one of my top priorities, and I often illustrate posts with photos I have taken of models that I work with. It is important to me that this blog be visually appealing and easy to navigate.

I write about interesting people, and sometimes they write guest posts. I find that most people are wary of writing, and I am glad to have the occasional guest post. They are always by experienced people like Robert Mitchell and Alan Landry who have good intentions.

Melissa Hardiman provides me with her drawings. I publish them frequently, and they add beauty, or drama, or both to these pages.

I offer perspective. Young people need that. I have been around since the days of having only three television channels, and they were all in black and white. You had to get off the couch to change channels. I have observed shifts in how parents behave, and what they value.

I endeavor to point out that our institutions have not learned anything in the last 50 years, and most of them are in a downhill slide. Employers are one of the worst categories, and young people need to be informed of this.

Readers are encouraged to contribute comments. It is rare to receive one, but I try to present my points in a way that invites them. I launched this blog long ago with a hope that a community would form around it. That has not happened, but my intentions are good. I am turned off by the constant chaos on Facebook. We could develop some sense of community here.

Things will surely change for the better when pigs can fly.

Things will surely change for the better when pigs can fly. This one flew in Albuquerque this year.

I praise the worthy. You often see Stormy Leigh’s photos here, and I report on the delightful antics of Black Cherry Burlesque at the Surly Wench. Not only might she be a new acquaintance for you, I also use praise and appreciation to set a good example to readers. We have too little of it in the world today.

I invite people to toss a penny in the collection plate. The lack of donations is an indicator of something. It might indicate a lack of traffic to the site. It might merely indicate that readers are aloof. I suspect that feeling aloof is one of the great tragedies of our day.

Readers can explore themes in considerable depth. This blog contains more than 600 posts, and most of them link to quality source materials.

I have a keen attachment to the phrase when pigs can fly. We have mostly given up hope and abandoned imagination. I am an advocate for both. These gifts are punished by most of our institutions. I stand as a defender and advocate.

I welcome your thoughts.

One thought on “On being distinctive

Leave a Reply

