A very sad day

Prayer dogTragedies such as the violence in Paris create feelings in me that I cannot confine. The sadness fills me. It overflows.

One  way to put healing ointment on the wound is to witness kindness and courage. You can do that in this video of Bill Maher interviewing Asra Nomani. I had not heard of her.

We must, I believe, fully dedicate ourselves to not creating more antagonistic relationships. We might begin with the presidential candidates. Let us show no patience with attacks on each other. Let us express our dismay.

We can all begin where we are to follow advice from Martin Luther King: only light can drive out darkness.

I recommend reading Reverend King’s letter from a Birmingham jail. It includes this:

Moreover, I am cognizant of the interrelatedness of all communities and states. I cannot sit idly by in Atlanta and not be concerned about what happens in Birmingham.

I say amen.

Leave a Reply

