The nature of courage

I discovered Brené Brown on Ted Talks. One is titled The Power of Vulnerability, and another is Listening to Shame. About halfway through the second presentation she points out that the purpose of angelTED is to serve as The Shame Conference. It is a place to showcase errors and the wisdom and insight they provide.

Her 20 minute shame presentation is the clearest explanation I can recall on the subject of how to save the world. Perhaps the people who want to be president could make time to watch it.

Years ago I read (many times) John Bradshaw’s book Healing the Shame That Binds You. I also attended one of his workshops. I have nothing but praise and appreciation for him, but I will say that Brené has a presenting style that is accessible to me in the most wonderful way.

I am currently reading her book The Gifts of Imperfection, Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are.

I’m not far into the book yet and I found this already: “I think we’ve lost touch with the idea that speaking honestly and openly about who we are, about what we’re feeling, and about our experiences (good and bad) is the definition of courage.”

2 thoughts on “The nature of courage

  1. I find your last paragraph fascinating Daniel. In the age of political correctness, speaking openly is strongly discouraged. Criticize Obama and I’m a racist. Criticize gun control and I’m an uneducated redneck. Speak out about vetting refugees and I’m a bigot. You see where this is going? This all comes from those that you identify with politically. They are the people that require silence and conformity. They are the people that gave rise to Donald Trump. You often state men are silent. Well they are not silent, they are pissed off. And they’re supporting Trump. And in doing so they are quite likely to hand the White House to the criminal in the pant suit. If that happens, for the 1st time in my life I’ll be embarrassed to be an American.

  2. Thank you for your thoughtful comments. For years we used the image of Old Glory waving in the wind to symbolize our sense of accomplishment as the United States, land of the free, and home of the brave. If Trump wins I too will feel apologetic to the world. I agree with your statement that men are pissed off. I wish they would serve a higher purpose.

Leave a Reply

